Does anyone know of an alternative to lecithin used in flat wafer batters beside the usage of egg yolk or Magnesium carbonate or Magnesium stearate? The addition of lecithin to the batter prevents the wafer sheet from sticking to the iron plates. Sometimes addition of egg yolk helps, but I can't use it. The addition of Magnesium carbonate or stearate did not prove itself for a long period of time, eventually the wafer sheets stuck to the iron plates.
Wafer batter recipe is simple, no sugar use, only nativ potato starch , Coconut oil, leavening agents some salt and water.
What else can be done?
I do not know how much coconut oil you use. In principle coconut oil works as antisticking or release agent. Did you try a higher level?
1. egg yolk lecithin
2. ammonium phosphatide
Hi Mr. Doron
You can try Finamul 9750 from fine organics , its will gives good results .
In such case, can you use egg lecithin? if so send a message to my e mail. Regards,
Hi Alfred and Roberto
First of all many thanks for the prompt answers
Unfortunately belongs the sunflower (oil and Lecithin) together with a long list of legume and kernels to the forbidden food in the passover time. It is Kosher for all over the year beside for passover.
I found that there is also TOPCITHIN®SF, which is a sunflower lecithin from Cargill and in the spec it says it is kosher approved.
I think it should work, it is chemically the same product, of course it should be kosher approved.
Does sunflower oil lecithin work if kosher certified?
We had in the past a big issue with GMO lecithin which made us test substitutes, one of them was sunflower lecithin that can be had from Sternchemie.
The sunflower lecithin (which by the way is not from a leguminose) had problems of taste in chocolate where you use a lot, maybe it can be used for wafers.
Thanks for your answer.
We produce a special "Kosher for Passover" product. our client does not want us to use soy lecithin since its mad from legume (Soy) and rapeseed lecithin since its not clarify by the kosher authorities. We do not use egg yolk because of allergens.
Yes, we use melted coconut oil, for the passover product.