answer caret-left caret-right close-large facebook hamburger linkedin mail password question repeat-password thumb triangle twitter username youtube circle-right trending search checkmark pin alert
Asked on 01.07.2019.
Lecithin substitute for gluten free lat wafer sheets

Hello

Does anyone know of an alternative to lecithin used in flat wafer batters  beside the usage of egg yolk or Magnesium carbonate or Magnesium stearate? The addition of lecithin to the batter prevents the wafer sheet from sticking to the iron plates. Sometimes addition of egg yolk helps, but I can't use it. The addition of Magnesium carbonate or stearate did not prove itself for a long period of time, eventually the wafer sheets stuck to the iron plates.

Wafer batter recipe is simple, no sugar use, only nativ potato starch , Coconut oil, leavening agents  some salt and water.

What else can be done?

Thank you

Doron

Answered on 01.07.2019.

Hi Doron!

I found that there is also TOPCITHIN®SF, which is a sunflower lecithin from Cargill and in the spec it says it is kosher approved.

Regards

Answered on 01.07.2019.

Doron,

Have you tried a little vegetable oil in the recipe? Could you share why you can not use lecithin? 

Thanks,

Roberto

Answered on 01.07.2019.

Hi Roberto,

Thanks for your answer. 

We produce a special "Kosher for Passover" product. our client does not want us to use soy lecithin since its mad from legume (Soy) and rapeseed lecithin since its not clarify by the kosher authorities. We do not use egg yolk because of allergens. 

Yes, we use melted coconut oil, for the passover product.

Best regards

Doron

Answered on 01.07.2019.

Hi Doron!

We had in the past a big issue with GMO lecithin which made us test substitutes, one of them was sunflower lecithin that can be had from Sternchemie.

The sunflower lecithin (which by the way is not from a leguminose) had problems of taste in chocolate where you use a lot, maybe it can be used for wafers.

Regards

Answered on 01.07.2019.

Does sunflower oil  lecithin work if kosher certified?

Answered on 01.07.2019.

I think it should work, it is chemically the same product, of course it should be kosher approved.

Answered on 01.07.2019.

Hi Alfred and Roberto

First of all many thanks for the prompt answers

Unfortunately belongs the sunflower (oil and Lecithin) together with a long list of legume and kernels to the forbidden food in the passover time. It is Kosher for all over the year beside for passover. 

Best regards

Doron


Answered on 01.07.2019.

Doron,


In such case, can you use egg lecithin?  if so send a message to my e mail. Regards,

Answered on 29.07.2019.

Hi Mr. Doron

You can try Finamul 9750 from fine organics , its will gives good results . 

Best Regards

Rasika 

Answered on 06.08.2019.

1. egg yolk lecithin

2. ammonium phosphatide

3. PGP

 

Do you know the answer?
Help Doron Golschiener by registering and answering.
Register now
Join the platform
Register for free and access all features.
Join biscuit people